Welcome to a place where there’s always time for make believe. Where whimsical can be wise and learning can be fun. Where stories have the power to inspire children to explore, create and connect to the wonders of the world around them. A world where everyone lives Barefoot...

Saturday, October 8, 2011

New Books For Independent Readers!

Barefoot Books has made great leaps lately to expand their offerings for early, confident and advanced readers. From our new Monster Series for early readers to our illustrated chapter books for advanced readers, you're sure to find something for the independent young reader in your life!

Monster Stories
Newly released in September 2011, our Monster books are perfect for children age 6 and up who are learning to read on their own. The simple sentences, carefully chosen vocabulary and exciting storylines give new readers a head start!

The first book in the Monster Stories Series is The Feathered Ogre.

This Italian tale tells how PĂ­rolo, the King’s youngest gardener, sets out on an impossible quest which frightens even the bravest of the King’s knights. Can he steal a magic feather from the back of the terrifying feathered ogre who eats tasty boys and girls for his supper?

The second book in the series is called The Mother of Monsters.

This story from South Africs is about the mischievous Ntombi, the Chief’s daughter, isn’t at all afraid of the fearsome Ilunge River. But when she goes to swim there, she enrages the Mother of Monsters, with her gigantic head, bulging eyes and thick, slimy scales, causing more trouble than she could ever imagine!

The other two new books in this series are The Abominable Snowman and The Terrible Chenoo. Please click on the book titles for more information about each story! From the main Barefoot Books pages you will be able to click on the book cover to view inside pages from the books and determine whether they will be right for your child!

New Chapter Books
Two new books join our growing collection of chapter books for confident and advanced readers: The Snow Queen and The Shipwreck.

The Snow Queen is an exquisitely illustrated retelling of the classic story by Hans Christian Anderson.

An evil troll creates a mirror which reflects the bad and ugly sides of people. Shards of its glass enter a young boy, causing him to reject his loving family and best friend Gerda. Helped by kind strangers and guided by her warm heart, Gerda makes the perilous journey to rescue her friend from the icy palace of the Snow Queen.

The Shipwreck is the 1st volume in a 4 part series!

When his father is murdered, a young viking boy named Leiv stows away on a ship bound for Greenland, intending to avenge the death. But the boat is wrecked in a storm and his search for revenge becomes a struggle for survival. Leiv is saved by an Inuit brother and sister and starts a new life in an icy land. Slowly he becomes aware of a way of life and value system which centers around peace rather than war, showing a profound respect for the natural world.

I hope you enjoy these new options for the older kids in your life! Stay tuned for information about new releases for the younger kids!

No comments:

Post a Comment